Adventures and misadventures in France.

Biking to work?

Monday morning,my week is already flooded with great news, bad news, and maybe-good news.

First, the great news :

Our company has finally moved into the new office building. While the kitchen and recreational floor haven’t been completed, all of our desks, computers, and office supplies have been unpacked. Here’s my new office.

photo (18)

I’ll be the first to admit that my level of responsibility and work experience do not merit an office this big. It’s very likely that I’ll end up sharing with a colleague, and that my career path will never lead to another setup as shiny and spacious. But for now, I’m very happy to work surrounded by windows, glass paneling, and oversized images of Times Square.

The bad news :

We’ve been putting it off for months, but Max’s contract requires him to spend some time working in client offices around France. A few months ago, he had a temporary assignment in Paris. It’s very likely that he’ll have another assignment an hour away for a period of several months. We’re lucky that he’ll be able to commute from home every day. But our new office is no longer within walking distance of our house. That leaves me with a few options for getting to work:

1) Beg coworkers to drive 3-10 miles out of their way so that I can carpool.

2) Learn to drive manual (and somehow obtain a car).

3) Bike to work.

The commute is 5 miles (8 km) each way. Google estimates that it should take about half an hour. Does anyone have experience with a biking commute? I think it would be a great way to energize before work and manage my variable work hours. The office showers will be completed in a month or two, and we’ll have bike racks as well. I’m a bit concerned about the busy two-lane roads and the weather, because winter and spring are monsoon season in our corner of France.

Please feel free to post advice in the comments below!

Comments on: "Biking to work?" (4)

  1. In spring and summer it could be a great way to start the day! I won’t be much use to you on this one, as I work from home so the only commuting I do is between my kitchen table and the coffee machine 🙂 I’d say that it depends on how safe the route is…

  2. Sweetteamob said:

    *Fixed* Thanks, I appreciate the support!

  3. Sounds like you need a helmet, reflective vest and headlamp! Love mom

  4. You might try an electric bike – it’ll get you home quicker in case of bad weather. By the way, I also had to learn to drive a stick, with my husband as a teacher — a truly epic moment in our marriage!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

