Adventures and misadventures in France.

La Politesse

There are plenty of awful stereotypes about people from different countries. According to Max, Americans are all overweight, the British are uptight and can’t cook, and Germans have too many rules. When I asked him if he was aware of stereotypes of the French, he simply replied, “We’re too awesome?”

No, I informed him, people think that the French are rude and snobbish.

“What!” he responded, “but la politesse (politeness) is so important to us!”

I’d like to believe that most stereotypes of French people is based on tourist experiences in Paris. True, Parisians don’t go out of their way to speak English or welcome foreigners into their city. But a similar distinction would be if all foreigners believed that every American acted like a New Yorker.

 

My experiences living in rural and southern France have only shown how friendly, welcoming, and polite they can be. The people who work in our local library, boulangerie, hair salon, restaurant, and convenience store all go out of their way to say hello, ask about recent vacations, and mention that they know your landlord. In my opinion, you haven’t seen the true French politesse until, as I experienced today, a 4-year-old neighbor on a tricycle takes their pacifier out to say “Bonjour!”

Comments on: "La Politesse" (4)

  1. sarainlepetitvillage said:

    I definitely think the world’s opinion of France is based on Paris. I’ve lived in Provence for the past three years and I find people here to be pretty friendly for the most part 🙂
    Did you hear that there is a campaign at the moment in Paris to make the city my tourist friendly? I’m anxious to see how it turns out!

  2. Sweetteamob said:

    No I hadn’t heard about that! I’m curious about what exactly they’re hoping to change? Thanks for the comment!

  3. When we visited I only remember one waiter (in Paris) that fit the stereotype. And I do remember all the shopkeepers greeting us with “bon jour”.

  4. There are rude/not so nice people in the service industry everywhere – too bad France gets the brunt of this negative stereotype – mostly, it’s understanding cultural differences that helps educate travelers to avoid misunderstandings. Thanks, too, for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

